#### **CUSTOMER SERVICES**

22 MAY 2012

# APPOINT THE MEMBERS AND CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS OF THE VARIOUS COMMITTEES

#### 1. SUMMARY

1.1 In terms of the Council's Scheme of Administration and Delegations and Standing Order 1.1.4. the Council is required to appoint the Members of the Committees of the Council.

Details of the current Committee Structure are detailed in this report and the Council is requested to appoint the Members and Chairs and Vice Chairs of the various Committees.

Details are also provided of the new Committees proposed as detailed in the report on Political Management Arrangements.

#### 2. RECOMMENDATIONS

The Council is invited to consider the:-

- **2.1** Appointment of Members, including Chairs and Vice Chairs, to the Committees as set out in 3.2 of this report.
  - (a) Executive
  - (b) Regulatory Cohort
  - (c) Audit Committee
  - (d) Policy and Performance Groups
- **2.2** Appoint the Members, including Chairs and Vice Chairs, of the four Area Committees as the Members representing the Electoral Wards in those areas.
  - (a) Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands
  - (b) Oban, Lorn and the Isles
  - (c) Bute and Cowal
  - (d) Helensburgh and Lomond
- **2.3** Appointment of Members, including Chairs, to the following other Committees/Groups as set out in 3.5 of this report.
  - (a) Special Committee for Older Peoples Services and Learning Disability Services
  - (b) CHORD Programme Management Board

- (c) Roads and Transportation Working Group
- 2.3 If so resolved, following consideration of the Political Management Arrangements report Appointment of Members to Performance Review and Scrutiny Committee

#### 3. DETAIL

- 3.1 The previous Council comprised an Executive which was augmented by three persons interested in the promotion of religious education and two non voting representatives of teaching staff for the purposes of discharging the Council's education functions, four Area Committees, a Regulatory Cohort (from which membership of the Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee, Appeals Committees, Licensing Board and Local Review Bodies were drawn from), an Audit Committee and four Policy and Performance Groups
- **3.2** The Scheme of Administration and Delegation currently provides for Members on each of the Committees as follows:-

#### **Executive**

Sixteen Members, being fourteen Members from the Partnership Groups, including the Leader as Chair and the Depute Leader as Vice Chair, and two other Members (not being Members of a Partnership Group) in the composition of which regard will be had to the four decentralised areas of Argyll and Bute Council.

# **Regulatory Cohort**

Fifteen Members for the purposes of providing a pool from which Members will be drawn for certain current regulatory functions and which cohort will undertake the development and training required in relation to the development of the Council's regulatory functions, with particular reference to planning/development control and liquor licensing.

That all those Cohort Members serve as a **Planning**, **Protective Services and Licensing Committee**.

That Local Review Bodies will continue as constituted and that the three Members to be appointed on any occasion will be so appointed by the Executive Director – Customer Services from the Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee here established and in so appointing those Members the Executive Director will select them by lot. Local Review Bodies will be Chaired by either the Chair or Vice Chair of the Planning, Protective Services and Licensing Committee and will not comprise the Local Member.

That the following **Appeals Committees** continue as hitherto constituted –

Staffing Appeals – five Members

Placing Appeals – Special Education Needs – two Members plus one person from a Parent Council from another school.

Education Appeals and Bursaries – three Members

Access to Personal Files – three Members

And that the Members to be appointed on any occasion will be so appointed by the Executive Director – Customer Services from the Cohort here established and in so appointing those Members the Executive Director will select them by lot.

#### **Audit Committee**

Five Members (two from ruling Administration and three other Members) none of whom shall be a Spokesperson or Member of the Executive and two Members who are not Councillors who will be Chair and Vice Chair respectively.

The current Chair of the Audit Committee is Ian M M Ross and his term of office expires on 30 September 2012. The current Vice Chair of the Audit Committee is Martin Caldwell and his term of office expires on 31 March 2014.

# Policy and Performance Groups (see paragraph 3.6)

Up to nine Members each to the following PPGs, in the selection of whom the Council will have regard to function, geography, and the skills and interests of Members, but will not appoint a Spokesperson to be a Member of the PPG.

Social Affairs
Economy
Environment
Organisational Development

- 3.3 The Scheme of Administration and Delegations provides that in appointing Members to the Committees other than the Executive (and the Area Committees), the Council will, where the Members of the Council are divided into different political groups, have regard to the distribution of Members amongst these groups.
- 3.4 In addition the Scheme requires the appointment of four Area Committees comprising the Members representing the Electoral Wards in those areas:-

### Mid Argyll Kintyre and the Islands

The Members of the Council representing Wards 1 (South Kintyre), 2 (Kintyre and the Islands) and 5 (Oban, North and Lorn)

#### Oban, Lorn and the Isles

The Members of the Council representing Wards 4 (Oban South and the Isles) and 5 (Oban North and Lorn)

#### **Bute and Cowal**

The Members of the Council representing Wards 6 (Cowal), 7 (Dunoon) and 8 (Isle of Bute)

# **Helensburgh and Lomond**

The Members of the Council representing Wards 9 (Lomond North), 10 (Helensburgh Central) and 11 (Helensburgh and Lomond South)

**3.5** The following other Committees/Group have also been established during the lifetime of the last Council:-

# **Special Committee for Older Peoples Services and Learning Disability Services**

Membership comprised -

Leader

**Depute Leader** 

Spokespersons for Social Affairs; Third Sector and Communities; Rural and Island Affairs, Housing and Gaelic; and European Issues
Two other Members from the Ruling Administration
Two Members of the Opposition

### **CHORD Programme Management Board**

Membership comprised -

Leader

Depute Leader

Chief Executive

Executive Director – Customer Services

Executive Director – Development and Infrastructure Services

Head of Strategic Finance

# **Roads and Transportation Working Group**

Membership comprised -

Nine Members from the Administration including the Leader of the Council and Spokesperson for Transportation Issues

3.6 If agreement is reached on the establishment of a Performance Review and Scrutiny Committee membership will comprise ten Members consisting of four from the Opposition Groups, three non-Executive Members of the Administration and three CPP Partner nominees plus one independent Chair.

# 4. IMPLICATIONS

- 4.1 Policy None
- 4.2 Financial None
- 4.3 Personnel None
- **4.4** Equal Opportunities None
- 4.5 Legal None

Douglas Hendry Executive Director – Customer Services

May 2012